Jay Som & Justus Proffit Share New Track From Collab EP

Jay Som – multi-instrumentalist, producer and songwriter Melina Duterte – recently announced a collaborative EP with fellow LA-based artist Justus Proffit. The duo will release their debut EP at the end of this week, and today they share another exciting look at the project with new single “Invisible Friends.” Additionally, the pair have announced a limited run of tour dates with a full five piece band this Winter – see below to find a show near you, and get your tickets when they go on-sale Friday at 10 am locally HERE.

“Melina and I wanted this song to sound really big. This song is kind of Oasis inspired. Every 2-count of the song there is a note hit on the keyboard, that was inspired by Len’s “Steal My Sunshine.” We generally just wanted a groovy 90’s rock song,” Justus Proffit says of the new song, “Invisible Friends.”

Following the release of her debut full-length as Jay Som, 2017’s critically acclaimed Everybody Works, multi-instrumentalist, producer and songwriter Melina Duterte relocated from California’s Bay Area to Los Angeles. Duterte had spent the greater part of the last 2 years on the road, and while settling into her new home she found a kindred spirit in LA-based singer-songwriter Justus Proffit. Though the two had never played together before, they decided to get together and record just for fun in Duterte’s home studio. This casual session quickly and unexpectedly snowballed into a collaborative EP, where they wrote and recorded one new song per day. Justus Proffit & Jay Som will release their self-written, recorded and produced debut EP, Nothing’s Changed, on September 28th via Polyvinyl Record Co.

Jay Som & Justus Proffit