Psychic Rites: Debut Album Out Now!

Psychic Rites refer to their music as Neon Disco Doom, a wry tag that perfectly fits their ethos. The Portland-based trio is comprised of songwriter, guitarist and synthesizer player Mike Siemens, guitarist Dave Miller, and synthesizer player Andy Schmidt. Inspired by acts such as the Cure PIL, the Knife and Depeche Mode, the group makes dance tunes that are both melancholic and manic. Their debut album, Cult_Memo is out today!

Cult_Memo deals with the transition from religion to spirituality, and issues of mortality and salvation. It offers quick flashes of insight into the nature of religious faith, innocent love and humanity’s uncertain future. Cult_Memo was assembled during a three-year period of soul searching and experimentation in which they relocated from Moscow, Idaho to Portland, Oregon. Speaking on the inspiration for the album, Mike Siemens says, “I was grappling with the meaning of life, the joy of being a new father, my metaphysical evolution and the unlimited possibilities of my synthesizer.”

The 10 song album is available now on all digital platforms. The band is currently working on their next album and will be touring to support Cult_Memo.

1. Molecular Curse
2. Alone At Night
3. Concrete
4. Excorsizing_Self
5. She
6. Alter Call
7. Unwarranted Advice
8. Wake
9. Cherry
10. Out of Touch