Tears For Fears Release Emotional New Single “No Small Thing”


115
12 shares, 115 points

Iconic British duo Tears For Fears have released “No Small Thing,” the second single off their highly anticipated first studio album in seventeen years, The Tipping Point, arriving February 25th, 2022 via Concord Records.

Written by both band members, Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith, the guitar strums pull you in with their folk-like tone, but slowly morph into controlled chaos, as Roland and Curt push the song’s sonics as far as they can go.

“In early 2020, Curt and I sat down together with just a couple of acoustic guitars. The first time in decades. We needed a meeting of minds, a coming together psychically. We were literally going back to the drawing board looking for some depth, heart and soul with which to complete our album. Curt came up with this simple folk/country riff, a little bit Dylan, a little bit Johnny Cash, and then we were off. It was the complete opposite of what we had been trying to do for many years – searching for the elusive, modern hit single. We felt suddenly unencumbered, free if you like, no longer worrying about the market, about success, but drawing on influences from our childhoods. It was at this point that the whole album started opening up. ‘No Small Thing’ was the key, the thing that turned a red light green,” Roland said.

“‘No Small Thing’ feels like it could have been a song from a seventies or sixties acoustic folk album with how the track starts. The fact that we felt confident enough to go from there to the end of the song to where it’s just absolute mayhem speaks to that sense of freedom, and that’s our comfort zone musically,” Curt added.

Inspired by Koyaanisqatsi, the “No Small Thing” music video was made using solely found footage showing the conflict between individual freedoms and collective responsibility.

In November, the band also announced The Tipping Point, with support from Garbage on the U.S. leg. Kicking off in Cincinnati, OH on May 20th, 2022, these dates will see the band performing in over twenty cities across North America before capping off with their last show in Wantagh, NY on June 25th, 2022. These dates will mark the band’s first U.S. tour since 2017. See below for a full list of dates, and for tickets and more information, visit the Tears for Fears official website.

TEARS FOR FEARS – 2022 US TOUR DATES


Friday, May 20, 2022 – Riverbend Music Center – Cincinnati, OH
Saturday, May 21, 2022 – Blossom Music Center – Cleveland, OH
Tuesday, May 24, 2022 – The Pavilion at Toyota Music Factory – Dallas, TX
Friday, May 27, 2022 – Ak-Chin Pavilion – Phoenix, AZ
Sunday, May 29, 2022 – Levitt Pavilion – Denver, CO
Wednesday, June 01, 2022 – Concord Pavilion – Concord, CA
Thursday, June 02, 2022 – Shoreline Amphitheatre – Mountain View, CA
Saturday, June 04, 2022 – The Forum – Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, June 05, 2022 – North Island Credit Union Amphitheatre – San Diego, CA
Thursday, June 09, 2022 – iTHINK Financial Amphitheatre – West Palm Beach, FL
Friday, June 10, 2022 – MIDFLORIDA Credit Union Amphitheater – Tampa, FL
Sunday, June 12, 2022 – Ameris Bank Amphitheatre – Atlanta, GA
Monday, June 13, 2022 – PNC Music Pavilion – Charlotte, NC
Wednesday, June 15, 2022 – DTE Energy Music Theatre – Detroit, MI
Thursday, June 16, 2022 – Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre – Chicago, IL
Friday, June 17, 2022 – Ruoff Music Center – Indianapolis, IN
Sunday, June 19, 2022 – Merriweather Post Pavilion – Columbia, MD
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 – TD Pavilion at The Mann – Philadelphia, PA
Wednesday, June 22, 2022 – Leader Bank Pavilion – Boston, MA
Friday, June 24, 2022 – P.N.C. Bank Arts Center – Holmdel, NJ
Saturday, June 25, 2022 – Northwell Health at Jones Beach Theater – Wantagh, NY

Sponsor